Ute Hörner & the interspecies collective CMUK

Catalogue d'oiseaux - Catalog of birds

Exhibition
2 April - 8 May 2022
Holy Spirit Parish Library
Maximilian-Kolbe-Platz
Ratingen-West

Ute Hörner has had intensive experience in artistic collaboration with animals. As part of the artist duo Hörner/Antlfinger, she founded the interspecies collective CMUK. The word CMUK is an acronym of the first names of the founding members: Clara, Mathias, Ute and Karl. In Slovak it means something like kiss. In this constellation, Hörner/Antlfinger has been working on joint projects with the gray parrots Clara, Theo and Karl since 2014.

In the windows of the Heilig Geist parish library in the ecumenical church center of Ratingen-West, CMUK are showing the installation "Catalogue d'oiseaux - Catalogue of Birds" from books they have read together and reinterpreted.

In the run-up to the exhibition, guests of the municipal senior citizens' center in Ratingen-West learned about the special artistic work of CMUK on 29 March 2022 and experienced their own relationships with animals in a new way during a workshop with Ute Hörner, Anne Schülke and parrot Giselle - be it their own animal companions or other animals they encounter in the urban space.

In autumn 2021, the installation "Dollhouse for Dinosaurs" (2021) by the CMUK collective was on view as part of the exhibition Der Traum vom Wohnen - The Dream of Living at the Museum Ratingen.

Fotos: Alexander Zhelezynak, Cornelia Schillig

Ute Hörner & das interspezies Kollektiv CMUK

Catalogue d'oiseaux - Katalog der Vögel

Ausstellung
2. April bis 1. Mai 2022
Pfarrbücherei Heilig Geist
Maximilian-Kolbe-Platz
Ratingen-West

Ute Hörner hat intensive Erfahrungen in der künstlerischen Zusammenarbeit mit Tieren gemacht. Als Teil des Künstlerduos Hörner/Antlfinger hat sie das Interspezies Kollektiv CMUK gegründet. Das Wort CMUK ist ein Akronym aus den Vornamen der Gründungsmitglieder: Clara, Mathias, Ute und Karl. Im Slowakischen heißt das so viel wie Küsschen. In dieser Konstellation arbeitet Hörner/Antlfinger seit 2014 mit den Graupapageien Clara, Theo und Karl an gemeinsamen Projekten.

Im Schaufenster der Pfarrbücherei Heilig Geist im ökumenischen Kirchenzentrum zeigen CMUK die Installation "Catalogue d'oiseaux - Katalog der Vögel" aus Büchern, die sie zusammen gelesen und neu interpretiert haben.

Die Eröffnung fand am 2. April 2022 um 18:00 Uhr statt. Die Ausstellung läuft bis zum 1. Mai 2022.

Im Vorfeld der Ausstellung erfuhren Gäste des städtischen Senior*innentreffs in Ratingen-West am 29. März 2022 etwas über die besondere künstlerische Arbeit von CMUK und erlebten während eines Wokshops mit Ute Hörner und Papagei Giselle ihre eigenen Beziehungen zu Tieren auf neue Weise - seien es die eigenen tierlichen Gefährt*innen oder andere Tiere, denen sie bespw. im Stadtraum begegnen.

Bis zum 1. November 2021 war die Installation "Dollhouse for Dinosaurs" (2021) des CMUK-Kollektivs im Rahmen der Ausstellung Der Traum vom Wohnen im Museum Ratingen zu sehen.
.
.
.

Fotos: Alexander Zhelezynak